<u>NOTICE</u> THIS APPLICATION WAS REVISED IN DECEMBER 2019 – PLEASE READ CAREFULLY -

Initial License Application To Operate an Assisted Living Facility

Regulations affecting the application for licensure of Assisted Living Facilities can be found by clicking the Rules tab or link on the applications page.

In addition to the information requested within the application, the following must also be submitted:

- 1. A completed application and application fee of \$240 plus \$18 for each bed. Application fees are not refundable.
- 2. A copy of the local zoning approval.
- 3. Organizational documents such as: Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Organization, LLC Agreement, Partnership Agreement, or Statement of Sole Proprietorship, under which the facility will operate.
- 4. A copy of the Certificate of Existence (for domestic entities) or the certificate of registration (for foreign entities issued by the Alabama Secretary of State), as proof of its authority to transact business in the state of Alabama.
- 5. A copy of the Certificate of Completion. The proposed physical site (existing or new construction) must comply with certain requirements and be approved by this agency. Additional information can be obtained in the facilities rules section of this website or from the Technical Services Unit at (334) 206-5177.
- 6. A facility diagram illustrating planned licensed beds and room numbers. Floor plans on letter sized paper if preferable.
- 7. A copy of the administrator's current license.
- 8. A copy of those facility policies and procedures which are required by the rules of the State Board of Health must be submitted for review by the Assisted Living Facility unit.
- 9. A copy of the Medical Director's agreement.
- 10. A copy of the MD License.

A license may be granted upon approval of the application, building approval from Technical Services, and a successful on-site survey.

NOTE Due to workload volume, application review takes a minimum of thirty days. A review of the policies and procedures required by the Rules of the Alabama State Board of

Health for Assisted Living Facilities will be required before the license is granted. Applications must be submitted well in advance of anticipated start of operations.

Applications must be submitted with all required documents and certificates as noted in the instructions before the review can begin. You are welcome to contact the department for ways to expedite the application process to shorten the review time. The earliest date a license can be granted is the first day the complete application and any additional reviews have been approved by the Department.

Please note: It is a violation of state law to provide assisted living facility services before you are issued a license from this agency. If you have any questions about your application, please call (334) 206-5175.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION INITIAL LICENSURE APPLICATION ASSISTED LIVING FACILITY

Item 1, <u>Applicant</u>. The applicant is the individual, partnership, corporation or other entity which will be the governing authority of the facility and to whom the license will be granted (not the facility name or the individual completing the application, unless the applicant is an individual). The name entered in this section must be exactly as printed on the legal document establishing the entity. A copy of the legal document must accompany this application. Entities established in a state other than Alabama must register to conduct business in Alabama with the Secretary of State's Office. A copy of the registration must also accompany this application. If the facility is leased, the lessee should be indicated as the applicant. The lessee may be an individual, partnership, corporation, or other entity. NOTE - The applicant must be the operator of the facility, the entity that hires or fires the administrator, determines patient care issues, makes payment for facility obligations, etc. Contact the department if there are questions regarding who may be the licensee.

Item 5, Facility Administrator. A copy of the administrator's current license must be attached.

Item 6, <u>Bed Capacity</u>. Total number of beds that the facility will operate.

Item 7, <u>Facility Name</u>. The information provided on this line will be entered in the Provider Services Directory and the facility will be referred to by this name exactly as entered on this application. This name should be the same as on advertisements, facility letterhead, signs in front of the facility and certification information. This name-must be unique; that is, it may not be the same as the name of any other licensed facility in Alabama, nor may it be so similar to the name of any other licensed facility that, in the judgment of ADPH staff, there could be any confusion to the public. Governing authorities operating more than one facility may give the facilities they operate similar, but not identical names. The name may be abbreviated if the abbreviation is also used on advertisements, facility letterhead, signs in front of the facility and certification information.

Item 9, <u>Facility Mailing Address</u>. The facility mailing address, street address or post office box must be within the same postal service area as the facility's physical location.

Item 17, <u>Attestation of Responsible Person</u>. A company officer, board member, administrator or other responsible person must sign the application and make the attestation.

<u>Application Fee</u>. The application fee for an assisted living facility is \$240 plus \$18 per bed. Fees are not refundable.

<u>Attachments</u>. Each attachment must be referenced as a specific applicable item. For example, attachment to item 13 d should be referenced and labeled as such.

Printing of License Certificates

License certificates are now available on-line. When a license is granted or renewed the license certificate can be printed on-line at https://ph.state.al.us/FacilityCertificatePrint. A facility ID and pin number will be provided and must be used to print license certificates.

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH DIVISION OF PROVIDER SERVICES P.O. BOX 303017 (MAILING ADDRESS) MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA 36130-3017 THE RSA TOWER, SUITE 710, 201 MONROE STREET, MONTGOMERY, AL 36104 (PHYSICAL LOCATION)

INITIAL LICENSE APPLICATION TO OPERATE AN ASSISTED LIVING FACILITY

APPLICATION FEE	FOR DEPARTMENTAL USE ONLY	
APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE. The application fee is \$240 plus \$18 per bed.	Application Fee Check #	
	Facility ID #	
MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO: Alabama Department of Public Health		

1			7				
	Applicant (see instructions on page 2)			Name of the Facility (see instructions on page 2)			
2			_ 8				
	Applicant Address			Facility Physical Address			
3			_ 9				
	City State	e Zip Code			acility Mailing Addres instructions on pa		
4			_				
	Applicant Tele	phone Number	10		Zip Code		
				City	Zip Code	County	
5			_				
	Facility Adm	inistrator	11				
				Fa	acility Telephone Nu	mber	
6			_				
	Facility Bec (see instruction	l Capacity ons on page 2)					
	Facility Administrator	' Email Address	_				

12. Applicant Information

a. Applicant is a (check one):

Individual	Nonprofit Corporation		City	
Partnership	Hospital Authority		County	
Corporation	State		Joint City County	
Limited Liability Company	Other:			
	Spe	cify		

- b. List all the applicant's board members and officers (attach additional paper if necessary).
- c. List the name(s) of any person or business entity that has 5% or more ownership interest in the applicant (attach additional paper if necessary). Also, attach a diagram depicting the organizational structure.
- d. Does this applicant or any of its owners listed in item "c" operate any other health care facility in Alabama or in any other state? YES \Box NO \Box If you checked yes, attach a list including the type(s) of facility(s), name(s), address(s), and owner(s).
- e. Have any of the facilities listed in item "d" had any adverse licensure action taken against them or been subject to exclusion from the Medicare or Medicaid Reimbursement Programs?
 YES □ NO □ If yes, attach an explanation, and Plan of Correction (POC).
- f. Have the applicant, officers or principals ever been convicted of a crime? YES INO If yes, attach an explanation.
- g. Have the applicant, officers or principals ever been found guilty of abusing another individual?
 YES NO I If yes, attach an explanation.
- h. Have the applicant, officers or principals ever had adverse action taken against a professional license, for example, nursing home administrator license, attorney license, nurse license, physician license? YES I NO I If you checked yes, attach an explanation.
- i. Have the applicant, officers or principals ever had a license application denied by this or any other state? YES \Box NO \Box If you checked yes, attach an explanation.

Assisted Living Facility

- 13. Has the facility **administrator** listed in item "5" of this application:
 - a. ever been convicted of a crime? YES \Box $\,$ NO $\,$
 - b. ever been found guilty of abusing another individual? YES \Box NO \Box
 - c. ever had adverse action taken against a professional license, for example, nursing home administrator license, attorney license, nurse license, physician license? YES INO IN
 - d. ever been excluded from participation in Medicare or Medicaid Reimbursement Program?
 YES □ NO □
 - If a, b, c, or d are yes, attach an explanation for each affirmative answer.
- 14. List the name and address of at least one physician who has agreed to respond to patients emergencies when the patients' personal physician cannot be reached. A copy of the agreement must be attached to this application.

Name

Address

15. Provide the name, phone number, and email address of a knowledgeable person who can supply details about this application (complete all information).

Name (print) ______

Phone _____

Email ______

16. Administrator Signature:

I declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have not operated or allowed to be operated this facility, or any other facility, without a license. I agree to operate this facility according to the Rules of the Alabama State Board of Health.

Printed Name	Signature
Date	
	NOTARIZED:
	Sworn to and subscribed before me this
	day of 20
	(Notary Public)

17. Attestation of Responsible Person:

I declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have personal knowledge about the statements made in this application and certify that all statements are true and correct. To the best of my knowledge, neither the applicant nor any of the principals, including myself, the owners, and the administrator, have operated or allowed to be operated this facility, or any other facility, without a license. I certify that I am authorized to make this representation on behalf of the applicant.

Signature:	Printed Name:
Title/Position:	Date:
	NOTARIZED:
	Sworn to and subscribed before me this
	day of 20
	(Notary Public)

MANDATORY ACKNOWLEDGMENT NOTICE

Pursuant to *Alabama Code* section 30-3-194, every applicant seeking from a state agency a license, certificate, permit, or authorization to engage in a profession, occupation, or commercial activity, must provide the social security number of the person signing the application, whether as an individual or on behalf of an entity or corporation. Failure to provide this social security number will result in the denial of the application.

Print or Type Name of Person Signing Application:

Social Security Number of Person Signing Application:

Print or Type the Facility Name: _____

THIS PAGE NOT FOR PUBLIC RECORD