
SMOKE FREE & TOBACCO FREE ENVIRONMENT 

Coastal Alabama Community College is committed to providing a safe and healthy environment for its 
employees, students, and visitors. The College recognizes the right of persons to make their own decisions 
about their personal use of tobacco products away from the College. However, to support a healthy working 
and living environment and general health and wellness for its students, faculty, staff and visitors, it is the intent 
of the College to establish a clean environment on its campuses. 

Effective January 1, 2017, the use of any tobacco products is prohibited at all times and at all locations on all 
Coastal Alabama Community College campuses, including college-owned and leased facilities, properties, and 
grounds. This includes but is not limited to the following: 

 All outside property or grounds of the campuses, including sidewalks, parking lots, and recreational 

areas. 

 Within any college-owned vehicles; 

 All indoor and outdoor athletic venues and facilities 

For the purpose of this policy, tobacco products include any products containing tobacco leaf, including but not 
limited to, cigarettes, cigars, pipe tobacco, snuff, chewing tobacco, dipping tobacco, etc. Smoking or the use of 
tobacco products and vapor-producing electronic devices (excluding meter-dose inhalers and nebulizers 
prescribed by a physician) are prohibited on any Coastal Alabama Community College property. The college 
also prohibits littering the campus with remains of any tobacco products. 
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All College employees, students, visitors, and contractors are required to comply with this policy, which shall 
remain in force at all times. Any College employee or student found to be in violation of the tobacco-free policy 
will be subject to a monetary fine. Tickets will be issued for violations of the College tobacco-free policy. 
Monetary fines will be imposed as listed below, depending on whether the offender is an employee or student. 

Student Fines 
Any Coastal Alabama Community College student found to have violated this policy shall be subject to the 
following fines: 

 First student ticket – Warning 

 Second student ticket - $25.00 

A student who has pending fines may not register for classes nor have transcripts released until all fines are 
paid in full. Any student or faculty desiring to appeal a fine arising from the finding of a tobacco-free violation 
under this policy may do so with the Chief of Police or designee. 

Employee Fines 
Any Coastal Alabama Community College employee found to have violated this policy shall be subject to the 
following fines: 

 First employee ticket – Warning 

 Second employee ticket - $25.00 

Any employee desiring to appeal a fine arising from the finding of a tobacco-free violation under this policy may 
do so with the Chief of Police or designee. 



 


