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ENRQLLED, An Act,

To amend Sections 28-11-2 and 28-11-13, Code of
Alabama 1975, relatiﬁg to the prohibition of the sale, use,
possession, and transportation of tobacco and tobacce prod cts
by a minor; to prohibit the sale, use, possession, and
tranSpartation of alternative nicotine products by a minor
BE IT =NACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:

Section 1. Sections 28-13-2 and 28-11-13, Code o
Alabama 1975, are amended to read as follows:

NEZR=l 1=

"For purposes of this chapter, the following terns
have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise;

" (1) ALTERNATIVE NICOTINE PRODUCT. The term

alternative nicotine product includes electronic cigarettes.

. = - <] = P T |
st ferrrettve it et e prodaetesTas ToITOWS Y

"o Rieetromic—cigarettesT An electronic cigaretie

is an electronic product or device that produces _a wvapor taiat

delivers nicotine or other subsiances to the person inhaliig

from the device to simulate smoking, and is likely to be

offercd to, or purchased by; consumers as an electronic

cigarette, electronig cigar, electronic cigarillo, OX

electronic pipe.
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"The term "electronic cigarette” does not includ:

any of the following:

"l1. A cigarette or other tobacco product as defiied

in this section.

2. A pEodidct that 1s & druag. under 21 U.8S.C,

§321(q) (1).

"3. A product that is a device under 21 U.S.C.

§321 (h) .

"4, A combination product that is a device under 21

U:5:0: 550 314) .

"The term "alternative nicotine products” does not

incluce the following:

"1. A cigarette or other tobacco product as defined

in this section.

"2. A product that is a drug under 21 U.S.C.

321q) (1) .

"3. A product that is: g device under 21 U.3.C.

$321 (1]«
w4, A combination product described in 21 U.S.C.

§353 (¢) .
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"43-(2) BOARD. The Alabama Alcoholic Beverage

Control Board.

"+74(3) DISTRIBUTION, To sell, bartexr, exchange, or
give tabacco or tobacco products for promotional purposes nr
for gratis.

3 r{4) MINOR. Any person under the age of 19 years.

"+443(5) PERSON. Any natural person, firm,
parthership, assoclation, company, corporation, or other
entity. Person does not include a manufacturer or wholesal :r
of tobacco or tobacco products nor does it include employe:s
of the permit holder.

"459-(6) PROOF OF IDENTIFICATION. Any one or more of
the following documents used for purposes of detexmining tae
age of a person purchasing, attempting to purchase, or
receiving tobacco or tobacco products:

"a. A valid driver's license issued by any state and
bearing the photograph of t@e prgsenting person.

"h. United States Uniform Service Identification.

"¢. A valld passport.

®*3j. A valid identification card issued by any state
agency for the purpose of identification and bearing the
photocraph and date of.birth of ﬁhe presenting individual.

"a, For legal mail order purposes only a wvalid
signec. certification that will verify the individual is 189

years cf age or older.

Page 3

85/89



11420450 3 T1EER 334-242-2644 BMD

10
11
12
1.3
14
15
16
17
18
19

20

22
23
24

25

PAGE

HB286

"6 (7) RESPONSIRLE VENDOR PROGRAM. A program
administered by the board to encourage and support vendors in
training employees in legal and responsible sales practice: .

"+F-(8) SAMPLER. Any business or person who
distributes tobacco or tobacco products for promotional
purposes.

"8y (9) SELF-SERVICE DISPLAY. A display that
contains tobacco or tobacco products and is loéated in an (.rea
openly accessible to purchasers at retail and from which such
purchasers can readily access tobacco or tobacco products
without the assistance of thé tobacco permit holder or an
employee of the permit holder. A display case that holds
tobacco or tobacco products behind locked doors does not
constitute a self-service display.

"9 (10) TOBACCO or TOBACCO PRODUCTS. Tobacco or any
product containing tobacco, including, but not limited to, the
following:

"a. Cigarettes.

", Cigars.

c. Chewing tobacco.

*"d. Snufi.

“a, Pipe tobacco.

"f. Smokeless tobacco.

"t3+69-(11) TOBACCO PERMIT. A permit issued by the

board to allow the permit holder to engage in the distribucion
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of tobacco or tobacco products at the location identified in
the permit.

"¢33}(12) TOBACCO SPECIALTY STORE. A business thit
derives at least 75 percent of its revenue from tobacco or
tobacc) products.

nE28~11-13.

Yritawfut—behaviorofmireoresr Unlawful for minors t

purchasze, use, possess, or transport tobacco, tobacco

products, or alternative nicotine products.
"(a) It is unlawful for any minor to purchase, ue,
possess, or transport tobacco, ©r tobacco products, or

alternative nicotine products within this state. It shall wot

be unlawful for a minor employee of a tobacco, tobacco

product, or alternative nicotine product permit holder to
handle, transport, or sell tobacco, o tobacco products, o:

alternative tobacco products if the minor employee is actiig

within the line and scope of employment and the permit hol ier,
or an employvee of the permit holder who is 21 years of age or
clder, is present.'

"(b) Tt is unlawful for any minor to present or
offer to another person proof'of identification which is
false, fraudulent, or not actually his or her own proof of
identification in order to buy, receive, or otherwise obtain,
or attempt to buy, receive,. or otherwise obtain, any tobaczo,

or tobacco products, or alternative nicotine products.”
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(c) If a minor is cited for any violation undexr this

section, the ¢iting agency shall notify a parent, legal

guardian, or legal custodian of the minor unlesg the minor has

been emancipated bv court order or gperation of law.

Section 2. This act shall become effective on the
firat day of the third month following its passage and

approval by the Governor, or its otherwise becoming law.
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Speaker of the House of Representatives

President and Presiding Officer of the Senate

House of Representatives

I hereby certify that the within Act originated :n
and was passed by the House 04-APR-13,

Jeff Woodard

Clerk
il 20-MAY-13 Amended and Pa: sed
House 20-MAY-13 Concurred in S«¢n-

ate Amendment
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