
 
USE ONLY FOR A VITAL EVENT WHICH OCCURRED IN ALABAMA 

The fee for a birth, death, marriage or divorce record search is $15.00, which includes the cost of one certified copy OR a Certificate of Failure 
to Find.  For additional copies of the same record ordered at the same time, the fee is $6.00 each.  Amendments, adoptions, legitimations, and 
delayed certificates must be processed through the Center for Health Statistics.  The fee is $20.00 to amend a record or file a delayed 
certificate which also covers the cost of one certified copy of the record.  The fee is $25.00 to prepare a new certificate of birth after adoption 
or legitimation which also covers the cost of one certified copy of the record.  Make check or money order payable to the "State Board of 
Health.”  Do not send cash.  Fees are non-refundable.  Do not request two different types of certificates on the same form.  
PRINT ALL INFORMATION LEGIBLY.  You must complete & sign the applicant section or your request cannot be processed.  
 

TAKE THIS FORM TO YOUR LOCAL ALABAMA COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT OR MAIL THIS FORM TO: 
      Alabama Department of Public Health, Center for Health Statistics, P.O. Box 5625, Montgomery, Alabama 36103-5625.   

For information on expediting a request or ordering online, visit our website at 
http://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords or call 334-206-5418.                                        

APPLICANT SECTION (THIS SECTION MUST BE COMPLETED) Birth certificates less than 125 years old and death certificates less than 25 years old are 
restricted  records.  Valid identification must be submitted with a request for a restricted record.  You  must  be  an  immediate  family member  OR  demonstrate  
a  legal  right  to  the  record  in  order  to  obtain  a  copy  of  the  record (§ 22-9A-21).  Anyone falsely applying for a record is subject to a penalty upon 
conviction of up to three months in the county jail or a fine of up to $500.  Code of Ala. 1975, § 13A-10-109.  By signing, you are certifying you have a legal right 
to the record requested. 
 
Your Signature_______________________________________________________________Date____________________________________  
  
Print Your Name ___________________________________________ Address ___________________________________________________ 
  

City ________________________________   State________   Zip__________________   Daytime Phone (_____)_________________________ 
         

Your Relationship to Person Whose Record is Being Requested ___________________________________________________________________ 
 

Reason for Request (if not immediate family) _________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

I allow the following individual to receive certificate(s) ___________________________________________________________________________                 
 

BIRTH: SEE  ID REQUIREMENTS ON REVERSE SIDE               NUMBER OF COPIES _______________       AMOUNT PAID $_________________ 
                                                    

FULL NAME AS ON  
BIRTH CERTIFICATE___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                            FIRST      MIDDLE               LAST 
 

DATE OF BIRTH _____________________________________________________________________                SEX______________________ 
 
COUNTY OF BIRTH _____________________________________________HOSPITAL________________________________________________ 
 
FULL NAME OF MOTHER/PARENT         
BEFORE FIRST MARRIAGE             __________________________________________________________________________________________                                                                                             
                                                                                 FIRST                            MIDDLE                     LAST 
 

FULL NAME OF FATHER/PARENT 
BEFORE FIRST MARRIAGE             __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                                 FIRST       MIDDLE                      LAST                              
                                                                                                                                                                      

DEATH: SEE ID REQUIREMENTS ON REVERSE SIDE               NUMBER OF COPIES _______________       AMOUNT PAID $_________________  
 
LEGAL NAME OF DECEASED _____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                                FIRST      MIDDLE                  LAST 
 

DATE OF DEATH ______________________________ COUNTY OF DEATH _____________________________        SEX ______________________ 
 

SSN ___________________________________ DATE OF BIRTH OR AGE ____________________________ RACE ________________________ 
 
NAME OF SPOUSE ____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                                FIRST      MIDDLE                    LAST 
 

NAME  OF  PARENTS __________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

STARTING WITH 1991 DEATHS, CERTIFICATES MAY BE ISSUED WITHOUT A CAUSE OF DEATH.  Indicate the number of copies of each type of certificate  
you want:                           WITH CAUSE OF DEATH                                                              WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH                                     
 

___ MARRIAGE  OR   ___ DIVORCE:                                                NUMBER OF COPIES _______________      AMOUNT PAID $ _________________ 
                                                                 
FULL NAME OF HUSBAND/SPOUSE 
BEFORE FIRST MARRIAGE   ______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                               FIRST      MIDDLE                   LAST  
 

FULL NAME OF WIFE/SPOUSE 
BEFORE FIRST MARRIAGE   ______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                                      FIRST      MIDDLE                   LAST       
 

IF MARRIAGE, DATE OF MARRIAGE___________________________      COUNTY WHERE LICENSE WAS ISSUED ________________________________ 
 

IF DIVORCE, DATE OF DIVORCE _____________________________     COUNTY OF DIVORCE ____________________________________________                                          

 

COUNTY REGISTRAR USE: This application has been reviewed for the individual's right to receive the requested document(s). 
 
__________________________________________________________________        ____________________     ___________________________________________________________ 
County Registrar's Signature                                                     Date                       County Health Department Receipt Number  
                    

Informational materials in alternative formats will be made available upon request.               ADPH-HS14/Rev. 3/2018          

http://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords


IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR RESTRICTED ALABAMA 
VITAL RECORDS 

 
Identification is required of any applicant requesting a restricted Alabama vital record 

(birth certificate less than 125 years from the date of birth or death certificate less than 25 years 
from the date of death).  The applicant must submit a completed request and one form of 
identification from the Primary ID list below.  In the event the applicant is unable to provide 
identification from the Primary ID list, he/she may provide two different forms of identification 
from the Secondary ID list.  

If the applicant designates another individual to pick up a restricted certificate on his/her 
behalf, both the applicant and the designee must provide acceptable identification.  

The completed request, as well as a copy of all identification submitted, will be 
maintained by the vital records office which processes the request.  
 

Primary IDs Including PHOTO 
(need at least one, current, expired no more than 60 days) 

Secondary IDs  
(need at least two) 

- Alabama Driver’s License  
- Out-of-State Driver’s License 
- State-Issued Non-Driver ID 
- U.S. or Foreign Passport 
- U.S. Certificate of Naturalization 
- Certificate of Citizenship 
- U.S. Military ID 
- Work ID (If applicant is employee of                                                                       

agency/company making request) 
- Alien Resident Card (Temporary or 

Permanent) 
- U.S. Employment Authorization Card 
- Citizenship ID Card 
- Tribal ID 
- Pilot’s License 
- Boating License 
- Concealed Weapons License 
- Ex-Felon ID 
- Inmate ID issued by the U.S. Dept of 

Justice w/ following documentation: 
o Supporting documents from 

institution if inmate is still in 
custody, letter of release from 
institution if inmate has been 
released 

- School ID (Must include current school 
term) 

- Alabama Voter Identification Card  
 

 
- Expired, Government-Issued ID 
- Utility Bill (No more than 6 months old) 
- Work ID (If applicant is making personal 

request) 
- Vehicle Registration or Vehicle Title 
- Property Tax Bill 
- Military Discharge (DD Form 214) 
- Voter Registration Card 
- Health Insurance Card 
- Social Security Correspondence (not 

Card) 
- U.S. Selective Service Card 
- Recent DMV Receipt for Fines Paid 
- Fishing or Hunting License 
- Copy of Police Report or other official 

documents which support theft, in cases 
where individual’s ID has been stolen 

- Autism Spectrum Card 
- Immunization (Shot) Record 

 
*In special cases where applicant is unable to 
provide any of these documents, please contact 
CHS at 334.206.5418. 


