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Who is A Child?Who is A Child?

Who is A Child?Who is A Child?

• A child is defined as anyone under 

the age of 18 years old

• A child is defined as anyone under 

the age of 18 years old

Defining AbuseDefining Abuse
• Child abuse is “harm or threatened 

harm to a child’s health or welfare.  

Harm or threatened harm to a child’s 

health or welfare can occur through 

• Child abuse is “harm or threatened 

harm to a child’s health or welfare.  

Harm or threatened harm to a child’s 

health or welfare can occur through 

non-accidental physical or mental 

injury, sexual abuse or attempted 

sexual abuse or sexual exploitation 
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AbuseAbuse
• Abuse occurs when a child is:

– Actually harmed

– Subject to a serious threat of harm
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– Actually harmed

– Subject to a serious threat of harm
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AbuseAbuse
• Kinds of harm include:

– Physical injury

– Mental injury

• Kinds of harm include:

– Physical injury

– Mental injury

– Sexual abuse

– Sexual exploitation

– Sexual abuse

– Sexual exploitation

Defining Sexual AbuseDefining Sexual Abuse
• Sexual Abuse is the “employment, 

use persuasion, inducement, 

enticement, or coercion of any child 

to engage in, or having a child assist 

• Sexual Abuse is the “employment, 

use persuasion, inducement, 

enticement, or coercion of any child 

to engage in, or having a child assist 

any other person to engage in 

sexually explicit conduct or any 

simulation of the conduct for the 

purpose of producing any visual 

depiction of the conduct; ... 

any other person to engage in 

sexually explicit conduct or any 

simulation of the conduct for the 

purpose of producing any visual 

depiction of the conduct; ... 

Defining Sexual AbuseDefining Sexual Abuse
• ... or the rape, molestation, 

prostitution, or other form of sexual 

exploitation of children, or incest 

with children as those acts are 

• ... or the rape, molestation, 

prostitution, or other form of sexual 

exploitation of children, or incest 

with children as those acts are 

defined by Alabama law.”defined by Alabama law.”

Sexual AbuseSexual Abuse
• Sexual abuse occurs any time 

anyone: 

– Attempts to involve a child in a 

sexual situation of any kind

• Sexual abuse occurs any time 

anyone: 
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sexual situation of any kindsexual situation of any kind 

– Actually does involve a child in a 

sexual situation of any kind 

sexual situation of any kind 

– Actually does involve a child in a 

sexual situation of any kind 

Defining Sexual ExploitationDefining Sexual Exploitation
• Sexual exploitation is “allowing, 

permitting, or encouraging a child to 

engage in prostitution [or] allowing, 

permitting, encouraging or engaging 

• Sexual exploitation is “allowing, 

permitting, or encouraging a child to 

engage in prostitution [or] allowing, 

permitting, encouraging or engaging 

in the obscene or pornographic 

photographing, filming or depicting 

of a child for commercial purposes.”
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photographing, filming or depicting 
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Defining NeglectDefining Neglect

• Neglect is defined as the “negligent 

treatment or maltreatment of a child, 

including the failure to provide 

adequate food, medical treatment, 

• Neglect is defined as the “negligent 

treatment or maltreatment of a child, 

including the failure to provide 

adequate food, medical treatment, q , ,

supervision, clothing, or shelter.”

q , ,

supervision, clothing, or shelter.”
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RememberRemember
• Child abuse can occur without direct 

contact between the child and the 
abuser

• Any situation may involve several 
different abusers
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– The person who did the act

– The person who allowed the act

– The person who encouraged the 
act to be performed

different abusers

– The person who did the act

– The person who allowed the act

– The person who encouraged the 
act to be performed

RememberRemember
• Any situation may involve several 

different types of harm

– Sexual abuse, mental abuse, and 

neglect could all be occurring 

• Any situation may involve several 

different types of harm

– Sexual abuse, mental abuse, and 

neglect could all be occurring g g

simultaneously

g g

simultaneously

What About “Statutory” Rape? What About “Statutory” Rape? 
• A person commits the crime of 

statutory rape regardless of the 
appearance of consent if:

– They are over 16 and their partner 

• A person commits the crime of 
statutory rape regardless of the 
appearance of consent if:

– They are over 16 and their partner 
is under 12

– They are over 16 and their partner 
is both under 16 and greater then 
two years younger then the actor

is under 12

– They are over 16 and their partner 
is both under 16 and greater then 
two years younger then the actor

Human TraffickingHuman Trafficking

• First degree

– Class A Felony

• Second degree

• First degree

– Class A Felony

• Second degree

– Class B Felony– Class B Felony

Who Should Report?Who Should Report?
• “All hospitals, clinics, sanitariums, 

doctors, physicians, surgeons, 
medical examiners, coroners, 
dentists, osteopaths, optometrists, 
chiropractors podiatrists nurses
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health professionals,…

Who Should Report?Who Should Report?
• ... or any other person called upon to 

render aid or medical assistance to 

any child when such child is known 

or suspected to be a victim of child 

• ... or any other person called upon to 

render aid or medical assistance to 

any child when such child is known 

or suspected to be a victim of child 

abuse or neglect, shall be required to 

report, or cause a report to be 

made…”

abuse or neglect, shall be required to 

report, or cause a report to be 

made…”
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Who Should Report?Who Should Report?
• In addition to ‘mandatory reporters,’ 

“any person may make such a report 

if such person has reasonable cause 

to suspect that a child is being 

• In addition to ‘mandatory reporters,’ 

“any person may make such a report 

if such person has reasonable cause 

to suspect that a child is being 

abused or neglected.”abused or neglected.”

How Do I Report?How Do I Report?

• Immediately call your local office of 

the Department of Human Resources 

(DHR) or the police

• After you speak with DHR or the
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the Department of Human Resources 
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• After you speak with DHR or the• After you speak with DHR or the 

police, prepare a written statement of 

the information to send to them
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What Do I Report?What Do I Report?
• You should report:

– The child’s name

– The child’s location
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parents/guardians/caretakers

– The character and extent of his 

injuries
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What Do I Report?What Do I Report?
– Any evidence of previous injuries 

to the child

– Any other information that could 

help establish the cause of the 

– Any evidence of previous injuries 

to the child

– Any other information that could 

help establish the cause of the p

injuries, including the identities of 

the abusers
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injuries, including the identities of 

the abusers

Why Should I Report?Why Should I Report?

• Reporting child abuse is the right 

thing to do

– You could help save the life of a 

child
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thing to do

– You could help save the life of a 
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Why Should I Report?Why Should I Report?

• Reporting Child Abuse is the legal 

thing to do

– There is no risk to you for making 

a report

• Reporting Child Abuse is the legal 

thing to do

– There is no risk to you for making 

a reporta report

• However, failure to report can 

subject you to up to SIX 

MONTHS IMPRISONMENT and a 

$500 FINE!

a report

• However, failure to report can 
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MONTHS IMPRISONMENT and a 

$500 FINE!
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What if I Have Questions?What if I Have Questions?
• If you’re interested in more 

information, the Child Reporting Act 

can be found in Alabama Code 

Sections 26-14-1 through Alabama 

• If you’re interested in more 

information, the Child Reporting Act 

can be found in Alabama Code 

Sections 26-14-1 through Alabama 

Code Sections 26-14-13

• If you have any legal questions, call 

the ADPH Office of General Counsel 

at (334) 206- 5209, and ask to speak 

with an attorney

Code Sections 26-14-13
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