Supporting Education in Environmental Health: Alabama Environmental Health Association Summer Meeting

Satellite Conference and Live Webcast Tuesday, August 12, 2014 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Central Time

Produced by the Alabama Department of Public Health Video Communications and Distance Learning Division

Alabama Cottage Food Law

Effective Date: June 1, 2014

Faculty

Phyllis Fenn, BS Standardization Officer Alabama Department of Public Health

Objectives

- Review of Cottage Food Law definitions
- Describe Cottage Food operator's responsibility
- Describe Health Department's role
- Discuss FAQ's

Definitions

• Cottage Food Production Operation -

Is not:

- A food service establishment
- Required to have a food service permit
- -Inspected by the Health Department

Definitions

- Cottage Food Production Operation –
 A person operating out of his or her home who meets all of the following requirements:
 - Produces a baked good, a canned jam or jelly, or a dried herb or herb mix or a candy

Definitions

- Has an annual gross income of twenty thousand dollars (\$20,000) or less from the sale of food
- Sells the foods produced only directly to consumers

Definitions

- Baked good Includes cakes, breads, danish, donuts, pastries, pies, and other items that are prepared by baking the item in an oven
- A baked good does not include a potentially hazardous food item as defined by rule of the department

Definitions

- Department The State Department of Health
- Home A primary residence that contains a kitchen and appliances for common residential use

Cottage Food Operator's Responsibility

- Complete a Review Form for their Cottage Food Operation with the local County Health Department
- Maintain certification of having attended and passed a food safety course

Cottage Food Operator's Responsibility

- · Label all foods the operation sells
- Sale of food may not exceed annual gross income of \$20,000
- Cottage Food Operation may not sell food over the Internet

Cottage Food Operator's Responsibility Acceptable Food Safety Courses

- A food handler course offered by nationally accredited programs, such as ServSafe, National Registry, etc.
- Food Safety courses offered by the Alabama Cooperative Extension Service developed specifically for cottage food operations

Cottage Food Operator's Responsibility

Label Requirements

- Name and address of the cottage food production operation
- A statement that the food is not inspected by the health department

Health Department's Responsibility

- The Cottage Food Law states:
 - Neither the State Department of Public Health nor a County Health Department may regulate the production of food at a cottage food production operation except as provided by this act

Health Department's Responsibility

- This means the health department will not inspect home kitchens
- This means the health department will not issue permits to CFPO
 - The department may issue a stop sale, seize, or hold order for any food suspected of being the cause of a food borne illness

Health Department's Responsibility

- The Cottage Food Law states:
 - -The department shall promulgate rules requiring a cottage food production operation to label all food that the operation sells to consumers, and requiring completion of a food safety course

Review Process

Health Department's Responsibility

- Review Form Review Process
 - Review sample label
 - Review copy of food safety certificate
 - Review products produced
 - No internet sales statement above signature line
 - Operator's signature

Health Department's Responsibility

- Review Form Review Process
 - Environmentalist signature and date
 - Assign a review number
 - Date of expiration
 - When the food safety certificate expires
 - Provide a copy of the Form to the CFPO
 - File

Frequently Asked Questions

- - Answer: The Food Handler's course is sufficient

Frequently Asked Questions

- Can a "helper" such as a child or spouse have the credential as long as they also live in the house?
- Will we handle these operators like our permitted facilities in that if they attend the course and do not pass, will we give them a "one year" registration?

Frequently Asked Questions

- Answer: "The Cottage Food Law specifies the Operator of a cottage food production operation shall maintain certification of having attended and passed a food safety course approved by the department." We are interpreting this literally. The operator must take and pass the food safety class.

Frequently Asked Questions

- Will the Health Department have a database to keep up with these operations state - wide and or county - wide so that we can inform the operators when the registration is due for renewal?
 - -Or at the very least keep up with how big this group will become?

Frequently Asked Questions

- Answer: It will not be the responsibility of the Health
 Department to inform a cottage food operator when their registration is due for renewal
- Maintaining certification is the responsibility of the operator

Frequently Asked Questions

- At this time a statewide database of cottage food production operators has not been developed
 - Each county should maintain a list of registered cottage food production operators

Frequently Asked Questions

- Can a Cottage Food operator advertise their products on social media?
 - Answer: The Cottage Food Law does not prohibit advertising

Frequently Asked Questions

- Can a Cottage Food operator deliver their products to their customers?
 - -Answer: Yes

Frequently Asked Questions

- Under the definition of "Baked Good" it specifies "items that are prepared by baking the item in an oven". What about "Fried fruit pies"?
 - Answer: The cottage food law makes no provisions for fried foods; only items baked in an oven, jams, jellies, dried herbs, and candy

Contact Information

Phyllis Fenn, BS Standardization Officer Alabama Department of Public Health

Phyllis.Fenn@adph.state.al.us