ALABAMA EMSP LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS

Licensure Requirements for EMT, Advanced EMT, Intermediate EMT, and Paramedic

- Application (All initial applicants must submit a typed and signed paper application),
- You can also renew, reclassify, reinstate, and complete a name change online (All initial applicants must submit a typed and signed paper application),
- Copy of National Registry Certification
- Current Alabama Protocols (Initial application only), If you need an Alabama Protocol class, please contact one of our Regional Offices or visit http://www.bremss.org/adph-protocol-training/ for the online course.
- Declaration of U.S. Citizenship (One time only). A legible photocopy or digital copy of a document demonstrating U.S. citizenship or lawful presence in the U.S. is required.
- If you have never been Nationally Registered (grandfathered), but maintain an Alabama state EMSP license, you must submit the same continuing education that is required by the National Registry to the OEMS. All continuing education must be completed prior to the March 31st deadline.
- License Fee \$40.00
- Renewal Late Fee \$50

Out of State Applicant Information

- You must be Nationally Registered and complete an Alabama protocols course in order to apply for an Alabama EMSP license. If you need an Alabama Protocol class, please contact one of our Regional Offices or visit http://www.bremss.org/adph-protocoltraining/ for the online course.
- Alabama does not issue INITIAL Intermediate EMT licenses. If you currently hold an Alabama Intermediate EMT license, you may maintain that license level as long as it does not expire. Once expired, you must gain National Registry at an available level.

Renewal Period

- January 1st March 31st
- The OEMS will begin accepting renewal applications January 1st of each year.

Questions

 You may email emsindividuallicensure@adph.state.al.us or call 334-290-3088 for assistance.