Code of Alabama 1975 Section 22-18-4
Fees of licenses; disposition of funds; qualifications for Emergency Medical Services Personnel (EMSP) licensure.
(a) In addition to all other licenses or fees now payable, the Board of Health shall, as prerequisite for issuing a license under the provisions of this article and rules and regulations promulgated pursuant thereto, charge a fee of $10 for each license valid for a period of 24 months issued to the EMSP and a fee of $25 for each license issued to any provider service operating an air or ground ambulance. Each license issued to a provider service shall be valid for a period not to exceed 12 calendar months. The same fee shall be charged for renewal of a license as is fixed in this subsection for the original license. No additional fee shall be collected when an EMSP becomes eligible for reclassification of his or her license to a higher level.
(b) All fees collected under this chapter shall be retained in a separate fund by the Board of Health for the purpose of enforcing this chapter and shall be disbursed as other funds of the state are disbursed; provided, that no fee or permit charge authorized under this chapter shall be charged or collected for the issuing of a permit to a volunteer rescue squad, as defined in Section 32-11-1, for providing ambulance service on a gratuitous basis, or any member who volunteers his or her service, unless licensure is requested by the squad, company or individual, whereupon, a fee will be charged.
(c) Any person desiring EMSP licensure shall complete an approved EMSP course as defined by rules of the Board of Health, successfully pass the appropriate level licensure examination as determined by the Board of Health, and submit an application to the board. An approved EMSP course for any level shall be a course conforming to the curriculum for that level approved by the United States Department of Transportation, or approved by any other federal agency as may, in the future, take jurisdiction over EMSP training curriculum development. A curriculum may be required to be supplemented with additional modules if the modules are optional modules approved by the United States Department of Transportation, or its successor as specified above, and the optional modules are prescribed by rule by the board pursuant to the Alabama Administrative Procedure Act.
(d) No air or ground ambulance shall be operated for ambulance purposes and no individual shall fly, drive, operate, attend, or permit same to be operated for the purpose of transporting a patient from any point within the State of Alabama to any other point within the State of Alabama unless such ambulance is duly licensed by the Board of Health . The Board of Health may prescribe exceptions to this requirement consistent with the interests of public health. Any ground ambulance shall at all times be driven by a person holding a valid driver's license and who has passed the Emergency Vehicle Operator Course approved by the Board of Health, or the Apparatus Operator's Course taught by the Alabama Fire College.
(Acts 1971, No. 1590, p. 2717, §2; Acts 1995, No. 95-276, p. 488, §1; Act 2010-584, p. 1304, §1.)
Page last updated: April 13, 2017