CoIIN: Smoking Cessation
Smoking harms the fetus, the newborn infant, and the young child as well as the mother. Smoking during the last two trimesters greatly increases the risk of stillbirth, spontaneous abortion, premature delivery, neonatal death and low birth weight. Data for 2015 shows that 10.4 percent of all live births are to mothers who admit to smoking during pregnancy.. Approximately eight percent of infants that die within one week of birth are the result of secondary conditions from the mother smoking during pregnancy.
Women who smoke during pregnancy are more likely to have:
- An ectopic pregnancy (a pregnancy that occurs outside the uterus).
- Irregular vaginal bleeding.
- A placental abruption (when the placenta becomes detached from the uterine wall).
- A placenta previa (a placenta that is low lying and covers all or part of the uterine opening).
- A stillbirth (an infant born after 20 weeks gestation with no signs of life at delivery).
Babies born premature or low birth weight (less than 2500 grams) as a result of smoking are at increased risk for:
- Chronic Health Conditions
- Learning Disabilities
Breathing in someone else's smoke is extremely harmful for pregnant women and young infants. Babies exposed to secondhand smoke:
- Have a greater risk of dying from SIDS or SUDI.
- Have a greater risk of having:
-Slow Lung Growth
Millions of today's children will die early from smoking if we don't do more to reduce current smoking rates.
By quitting smoking:
- You will never have to look for a place to smoke.
- You will have more time to spend with your baby, families and friends.
- You will have whiter teeth.
- You will have fresher breath.
- You will have a healthier heart.
- You will have healthier lungs.
Congress has extended the authority of the Food and Drug Administration to regulate all tobacco products, including e-cigarettes, hookah, and cigars. In addition, under federal law, retailers will no longer be able to sell e-cigarettes, cigars, or other covered tobacco products to anyone under age 18 and all tobacco sales to those 26 and under will require a photo ID. Learn more about the new tobacco product regulations.
- Alabama Department of Public Health Get A Healthy Life: Don't Smoke, Drink or Do Drugs
- Alabama Department of Public Health Tobacco Prevention and Control
- Be Tobacco Free
- CDC E-Card
- Clinician's Guide: Smoking Cessation During Pregnancy
- Smoking Cessation for Pregnancy and Beyond
- Smoking during pregnancy poster
- Smoking and pregnancy brochure
Page last updated: September 20, 2017