Alerts

The Department of Public Health is requesting that pharmacists dispense limited quantities of government-supplied antivirals to qualified patients who bring a prescription to their pharmacy but do not have the means to pay for the medication. Pharmacists are asked to please review the following information regarding antivirals. Orders are now being accepted for antivirals. Information about obtaining h2N1 vaccine will be sent as soon as available.

ADPH appreciates pharmacists' interest in and willingness to help our most vulnerable citizens.

Ordering and Receiving Antivirals

Antivirals can only be dispensed pursuant to a valid prescription from a physician. Antivirals can be obtained from the health department by logging on to the website and registering your store. Once registered, pharmacists place orders, and the antiviral will be provided free of charge for dispensing to the appropriate patient. Instructions on how to log on will be sent at a later time.

Public Readiness and Emergency Preparedness Act (PREP) - Provider Antiviral Agreement

Use of Antivirals

This form allows physicians and pharmacists licensed in Alabama to request free antivirals purchased by the federal government and ADPH for use in persons without third-party payer coverage for antivirals.

Requirements

The requesting physician or pharmacist must agree to the following conditions:

  • Government-supplied antivirals must be prescribed by a duly authorized practitioner licensed to practice in Alabama.
  • Government-supplied antivirals may be provided only to persons who lack third-party payer coverage for antivirals.
  • Government-supplied antivirals may be used only for the treatment of individuals with influenza and for the 10-day prophylaxis of medically at-risk individuals who have a known, discrete exposure to influenza.
  • The provider must agree to not sell or seek payment for government-supplied antivirals. However, this does not preclude the dispensing provider from charging the patient a fee to fill the prescription, not to exceed $6.00 per filled prescription. If the patient cannot afford the fee, the antiviral medication must be provided to the patient without charge.
  • The provider must have a system to account for and report the number of dispensed doses of government-supplied antivirals.
  • The provider must give the patient a copy of an approved patient information leaflet (for example: Tamiflu or Relenza).

Special Situation

In the event of a shortage of commercially distributed antivirals, a pharmacist may borrow government-supplied antivirals to fill prescriptions for persons with third-party payer coverage only if the government-supplied antivirals are replaced as soon as possible. In this instance, the pharmacist may follow usual third-party billing practices.

Understanding

The requesting physician or pharmacist must understand the following:

  • Submitting this form does not guarantee provision of government-supplied antivirals.
  • ADPH reserves the right to adjust the number of doses provided.

Administration Costs and Billing Antivirals

A fee for antivirals would be capped at the rounded-up Medicaid amount of $6.00 per dispensed prescription. The provider must agree to not sell or seek payment for government-supplied antivirals. However, this does not preclude the dispensing provider from charging the patient a fee to fill the prescription, not to exceed $6.00 per filled prescription. If the patient cannot afford the fee, the antiviral medication must be provided to the patient without charge. Since the antivirals will be provided free, pharmacists will not be able to bill for these items.

Time Frame

It is important for orders to be placed immediately. Visit the FDA Site for Information on Tamiflu Suspension for more information.

Instructions for Ordering

1. Go to alabamapublichealth.gov.

2. Select "Log In" at the top of the page.

3. Select "ORDER (Ordering Resources During an Emergency Response)" from the list.

4. Choose license type and select "Pharmacy Permit."

5. Enter your permit number in the license or permit number field.

6. Click the "Login" button.

7. Ensure your information is correct on this page and follow the instructions.


Page last updated: April 12, 2017