## End HIV Alabama Meeting Notes December 2022

In attendance: LaTeisha Elliott, Brittney Brooks, Jora White, Chance Shaw, Vanessa Tate-Finney, Kathie Hiers, Morgan Farrington, Chrystal Nelson, Melissa Parker, Karley Bishop, Zaire Bartholomew, Tashuna Albritton, Chrystalyn Winfield, Demetrius Billups, Sinseriti Banks, Raina Jain, Larry Cowan, Derrick Steverson, YeWohn Woods, Kelsey Bryant, Danasia Cowans, and EHA Co-chairs: Carmarion Anderson-Harvey, Tony Christon Walker, and Shey Thorn. (This is a partial list. Registration information was not accessible.)

EHA used a hybrid format for this meeting. The live group met at The Way Station, 3529 &th Avenue S, Birmingham, AL 35222. The Way Station is an emergency overnight crisis stabilization shelter operated by AIDS Alabama targeting Youth and the LGBTQ community. The center has been well-received and supported by the community. A virtual option via Zoom was available to all who registered for the meeting. Vanessa facilitated the meeting.

## **Presentations**

Morgan Farrington facilitated a Power Point presentation on Advocacy and Stigma. The presentation is part of a training the Policy & Advocacy work group created for community education. The main points covered in the presentation were:

- Causes of stigma and how it impacts individuals
- How to avoid stigmatizing language
- Marginalization
- Intersectionality
- Linkage to Care

Dr. Tashuna Albritton facilitated a Power Point presentation on her funded research: EHA has partnered with Dr. Albritton to provide consultation and feedback for this project. Her two primary research aims are to

- Understand rural Black females' sexual reproductive health services (SRHS) lived experiences across generations using Photovoice
- Identify problems and develop a plan (i.e., intervention) to resolve the problem of persistent HIV disparities among young rural Black females using the SSM approach with EHA.

Dr. Albritton's email address is talbritton@med.cuny.edu

## **Co-chair Elections**

Nominations received: Vanessa Tate-Finney, Chance Shaw, Morgan Farrington, and Derrick Steverson. Morgan Farrington and Derrick Steverson were elected by the present voting members.

Next Meeting Date: February 16, 2023. This will be a hybrid meeting.