Wearing seat belts

is the most effective way to reduce health and serious injuries in traffic crashes.

75% of all crashes occur within 25 miles of home and on roads with a maximum speed of 40 mph or less.



Need Help with Your Car Seat?

There are over 20 Child Safety Seat Inspection Stations across Alabama that provide free help and information. To find a certified individual near you, visit www.adph.org/injuryprevention or call 1-800-504-9768 in Alabama.

Always read your vehicle's manual and the safety seat's instructions to install a car seat correctly.



www.adph.org/injuryprevention

For more information, contact the Alabama Department of Public Health Injury Prevention Division The RSA Tower, Suite 980 P.O.Box 303017 Montgomery, AL 36104 Phone: (334) 206-5300 Toll Free: (800)252-1818

Funded by a grant from the Law Enforcement and Traffic Safety Division, Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs

Data Sources: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System (WISQARS)

ADPH-INJ-19-1207-DD

Buckle Up, Alabama... It saves lives!



ALABAMA LAWS

Alabama seat belt law states that each front-seat occupant of a "passenger car" shall have a safety belt properly fastened about his/her body any time the vehicle is in motion.

"The fine for a citation is \$25.00 for adults and children. Remember, if you don't click it, you will get a ticket!"



Why Wear a Seat Belt?

- If you are a typical driver in Alabama, there is a 54.1% probability that you will be involved in an injury or fatal crash while driving an automobile in your lifetime.
- Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for persons in Alabama age 1-34.
- Every 15 seconds, someone is injured in a traffic crash and every 13 minutes, someone is killed in an automobile crash.
- For adult drivers, seat belts reduce the risk of death by 45%.
- Appropriate restraints, such as car seats and booster seats reduce the risk of death by 54% for toddlers and 71% for infants.

Graduated Driver's License

In 2002, Alabama passed the Graduated Driver's License law. The law outlines the 3-stages for obtaining an Alabama driver's license. The threestages are: learners permit (restrictions), intermediate license (restrictions), and full license.

Under the law, 16 year olds:

- Cannot have more than 4 occupants (3 non-parents/1 parent maximum) in the car unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
- Cannot drive between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m., unless going to or from their workplace, a school or religious function and in case of medical emergency.



Teen Driver Facts

- One teen passenger doubles the risk of a fatal crash and two or more teen passengers makes the risk 5 times higher – as passengers increase, the risk also increases.
- In over half of the accidents that resulted in death no adult was present.
- Accidents with 16 year old drivers:
 - More often involve driver error.
 - Have a higher rate of crashes where excessive speed is a factor.

Alabama Child Restraint Law

Effective July 1, 2006: Every person transporting a child in a motor vehicle operated on the roadways, streets, or highways of this state, shall provide for the protection of the child by properly using a child passenger restraint system. The size appropriate restraint system required for a child shall include all of the following:

- Birth to Age 1 or 20 pounds: Infant only seats and convertible seats used in the rear facing position.
- (2) Age 1 or 20 pounds to age 5 or 40 pounds: Convertible seats in the forward position or forward facing seats.
- (3) Age 5 or 40 pounds to age 6: Booster seats.
- (4) Age 6 to Age 15: Seat belts.

Any person violating the provisions of this act may be fined \$25.00.



