
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
REGARDING THE ALABAMA MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE 

 

LEGALITY OF MARRIAGE IN ALABAMA 
 
Q. How has the marriage process changed under the law passed in 2019 by 

the Alabama Legislature? 

A. As of August 29, 2019, persons wanting to marry in Alabama no longer file an 

application for a marriage license with the county probate court, and the courts no longer 

issue marriage licenses. Instead, the Alabama Marriage Certificate form should be 

completed by the persons entering into marriage and delivered to the probate court for 

recording.  

Q. When does my marriage become “legal”? 

A.  Your marriage is valid or “legal” when the properly completed, signed and 

 notarized Alabama Marriage Certificate form is recorded by an Alabama probate court. 

 The marriage form must be delivered to the probate court within 30 days of the latter 

 of the dates of the spouses’ signatures for the marriage to be valid.  

 

Q. How is the date of my marriage determined? 

A.  The law provides that the date of the marriage is the date that the affidavit on the 

 Alabama Marriage Certificate form is signed by the two spouses, so long as the 

 completed and notarized form is provided to the probate office for recording within 

 30 days of the date of the spouses’ signatures. If the spouses sign on different dates, the 

 date of the marriage will be the latter of the dates of the spouses’ signatures, 

 provided the form is delivered to the probate court within 30 days of the date of that 

 last signature.  

 

Q. What does “the latter of the dates of the spouses’ signatures” mean?  

A. If the spouses sign on two different dates, this means the latest date of the two 

signatures. 

Q. Where can I find the Alabama Marriage Certificate form? 

A. You can access the Alabama Marriage Certificate form online at the Alabama 

 Department of Public Health’s website at 

 http://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/marriage- certificates.html. There is one 

 form for persons who are 18 years of age and older, and a second version of the form 

 for persons who are 16 to 17 years of age and require the consent of a parent or 

 guardian to enter into marriage. Instructions for completing and filing the forms are 

 included. County probate courts may also elect to post a link to the forms on their 

 own websites or have printed copies of the forms available at their offices. 

Q. Can I still have a marriage ceremony performed? 

A.  A wedding ceremony is optional. You may have a ceremony, but it is no longer required 

 for a recognized marriage in Alabama. 

 

 

http://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/marriage-%09certificates.html


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
REGARDING THE ALABAMA MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE 

 

LEGALITY OF MARRIAGE IN ALABAMA (continued) 
 

Q. How long do I have to wait after my divorce to remarry in Alabama? 

A. Certain circumstances can affect the waiting period for remarriage after divorce. Please 

consult your divorce decree for guidance or contact your legal representative or the court 

which issued the divorce decree for assistance. 

 

WHO CAN MARRY IN ALABAMA 
 

Q. Can minors marry in Alabama? 

A.  If you are under the age of 18, but are at least 16 years of age, and have never been 

 married, you can still marry in Alabama with the consent of a parent or guardian. The 

 consenting parent(s) or guardian(s) must complete page 2 of the Marriage Certificate 

 form, entitled “Affidavit of Consent for Marriage of a Minor.”  For the marriage to be valid, 

 the marriage form completed by the spouses and the Affidavit of Consent must be 

 presented together to the probate court for recording. The final Marriage Certificate will 

 be a two-page document.  

Q.  I live in another country. Can I marry in Alabama? What should I put on the 
 Marriage Certificate form for county and state of residence and Social 
 Security Number? 

A.  A resident of a foreign country who meets the eligibility criteria stated on the 

 Marriage Certificate form and who properly completes the Marriage Certificate can marry 

 in Alabama. Persons who reside in a foreign country should enter the name of the 

 state, province or territory of the foreign country in the Residence County field on the 

 form and enter the name of the foreign country in the Residence State field. If an 

 individual has never been assigned a Social Security Number by the Social 

 Security Administration, the field for the Social Security Number should be left blank. 

 

NOTARY INFORMATION 
 

Q. Where can I find a notary? Will there be a charge for notary services? 

A.  Notaries are available at many locations, including banks, public libraries, UPS stores, 

 AAA and some pharmacies. Your personal bank should provide notary services for 

 free, but there may be a charge for notary services at some of the  other listed locations. 

 Under Alabama law, a Notary Public is able to charge $5 for each signature that is 

 notarized and for each official act performed. Notaries who drive to meet with you 

 can charge an additional fee or fees to compensate them for the expense of 

 travel; Alabama does not set limits on what a notary can charge for travel. A list of 

 commissioned notaries is available at the Alabama Secretary of State’s website at 

 https://www.sos.alabama.gov/administrative-services/notaries-public.  

 

https://www.sos.alabama.gov/administrative-services/notaries-public
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NOTARY INFORMATION (Continued) 
 
Q.  Can a non-Alabama notary notarize an Alabama Marriage Certificate  form? 

A. No, per the Alabama Office of the Attorney General’s opinion issued May 18, 2022, a 

Marriage Certificate form notarized by a notary public not authorized to notarize under 

the laws of the State of Alabama shall not be accepted for recording by an Alabama 

probate court. A Marriage Certificate form notarized by a notarizing officer of the U.S. 

Department of State is also not acceptable.   

Q.  Can I or my notary electronically sign the Alabama Marriage Certificate 
 form? 

A. An electronic signature of a spouse, notary or consenting parent of a minor spouse is 

not acceptable on a Marriage Certificate. A Marriage Certificate form with an electronic 

signature for any of these parties will not be recorded or filed. 

 

HOW TO RECORD AN ALABAMA MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE 
 
Q.  Am I required to record the Alabama Marriage Certificate form in the 

 probate court of the Alabama county where I or my intended spouse 
 reside? 

A. You may record an Alabama Marriage Certificate form in any Alabama county 

 probate court.  

Q. How much does it cost to record a marriage with the probate court? 

A.  Every county probate court in Alabama sets its own fees for recording documents. 

 Call the office of the probate court for its current recording fees or check the court’s 

 website to find a listing of recording fees.  

Q.  What happens if the Alabama Marriage Certificate form is not delivered to 
 the probate court within 30 days of the spouses’ signatures, as required?   

A.  The marriage would be considered invalid, and the spouses would need to 

 complete a new Marriage Certificate form and deliver it to the probate court within 

 the 30 days required by law.  

 

Q. Can I mail the Alabama Marriage Certificate to the probate court? 

A.  Yes, however, you should mail the completed, signed and notarized Alabama 

 Marriage Certificate in sufficient time to be received by the probate court within the 30 

 days required under law, in order for the marriage to be valid. Certificates that are 

 emailed will not be accepted by the probate courts.  
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HOW TO RECORD AN ALABAMA MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE (Continued) 
 

Q.  Can I send my completed Alabama Marriage Certificate directly to the 
 Center for Health Statistics for filing? 

A.  No, Marriage Certificates must be delivered to an Alabama county probate court for 

 recording, not the Center for Health Statistics. Marriage Certificate forms sent directly to 

 the Center for Health Statistics will be returned to the sender without being 

 recorded or filed. 

 

MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE COPIES AND CORRECTIONS  
 
Q.  Will the probate court provide me with a certified copy of my Marriage 

 Certificate after it has been recorded? 

A.  Some probate courts currently provide a certified copy of the Marriage Certificate 

 to couples and have announced that they will continue to do so, but the practice is 

 different from county to county.  

Q. How do I get additional certified copies of my Marriage Certificate? 

A.  After the probate court records the Marriage Certificate, the original certificate will 

 be forwarded to the Alabama Department of Public Health’s Center for Health 

 Statistics. Once the original certificate has been received and filed in the Center for 

 Health Statistics, you may request certified copies of your certificate through that office. 

 For instructions on how to request certified copies of your certificate in person, online or 

 by mail, visit the Center’s website at

 http://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/marriage- certificates.html.  

Q.  If I or my spouse made a mistake in the information we provided on the 
 Marriage Certificate, can we make corrections to the Marriage Certificate 
 after it has been filed with the probate court? 

A.  Yes, you can make corrections to your filed Marriage Certificate. To do so, you must 

 complete a form called “Amendment to Alabama Marriage Certificate and Decree of 

 Correction.” You may obtain that form from an Alabama county probate court. The 

 form must be completed, signed and notarized by both spouses and presented to an 

 Alabama probate court for filing. You will need to pay another recording fee to the 

 court at that time. After recording, the court will forward the amendment to the 

 Alabama Department of Public Health’s Center for  Health Statistics. The amendment 

 will be permanently attached to and issued with the original Marriage Certificate when 

 certified copies are requested through the Center for Health Statistics. See the 

 Frequently Asked Question about obtaining additional certified copies of a Marriage 

 Certificate for more information. 

 

Question not answered above?  Call the Center for Health Statistics at (334) 206-2714. 

http://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/marriage-%09certificates.html

