
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 A Decent  
 Place  

 to Live  

Selma 
(334) 872-1355  
Toll-free (800) 644-6028 
 

Tuscaloosa 
(205) 758-7503  
Toll-free (888) 440-3256 
 

If  your landlord is discriminating against 
you because of  your race, religion, disability 
or other factor, contact:  
 

Central Ala. Fair Housing 
(334) 263-HOME (4663) 
 

Fair Housing Center of  N. Ala. 
(205) 324-0111 
 

Mobile Fair Housing Center 
(251) 479-1532 
 

For names of  lawyers in your area who are 
experienced in housing issues, contact: 
 

Alabama Bar Association 
Lawyer Referral Service 
(334) 269-1515  

 Tenant Rights in Alabama 

Alabama’s Landlord-Tenant 
Law spells out what makes a 
rental dwelling livable and lists 
the basic rights and duties of 
both tenants and landlords.  
This pamphlet outlines the    
major points covered by the law.  

 

If  you have low income and need legal    
assistance to deal with an eviction notice or 
other housing issue, call Legal Services  
Alabama in the following cities: 
 

Anniston 
(256) 237-3615  
Toll-free (800) 884-0595 
 
Birmingham  
(205) 328-3540  
 
Dothan 
(334) 793-7932  
Toll-free (800) 701-0926 
 

Florence 
(256) 767-2020  
Toll-free (800) 467-3150 
 

Huntsville 
(256) 536-9645  
Toll-free (888) 741-7129 
 

Mobile 
(251) 433-6560  
Toll-free (800) 403-4872 
 

Montgomery 
(334) 832-4570  
Toll-free (800) 844-5342 
 

Opelika 
(334) 826-6828  
Toll-free (800) 331-5826 
 

Where to get legal help Legal Services (continued) 

This brochure is a shortened version of The   
Alabama Tenants’ Handbook, produced by 
Alabama Appleseed, Arise Citizens’ Policy  
Project, and Legal Services Alabama.  
Illustration by Leilah Rampa. 
 

To get a free copy, contact: (800) 832-9060 or 
brenda@alarise.org. Visit www.arisecitizens.org 
to download a PDF version of the handbook.  www.arisecitizens.org/tenant.htm 



 
• Pay your rent on time. 
 

• Take care of your place. 
 

• Use all utilities & appliances the 
right way. 

 

• Dispose of your garbage the 
right way. 

 

• Do your part to keep common 
areas clean & safe. 

 

• Let the landlord come into your 
place (usually with 2 days’      
written notice) to inspect it or 
make repairs. 

 

• Follow the landlord’s rules. 
 

• Tell the landlord if you’re going 
to be away for 2 weeks or 
longer. 

 

• It’s a good idea to keep         
cancelled rent checks & copies 
of any letters you send to the 
landlord. 

 

• If you get an eviction notice for 
unpaid rent, you have 7 days to 
pay (14 days to fix most other 
problems). 

 

• If you get eviction papers from 
the sheriff, contact a lawyer (see 
other side). 

 
• Make sure the rental unit meets 

health & safety codes. 
 

• Limit security deposit to no more 
than 1 month’s rent & return it or 
give an accounting within 35 
days after lease ends.  

 

• Inform you of tenant rules before 
you sign the lease. 

 

• Supply hot & cold running water. 
 

• Provide source of heat in winter. 
 

• Maintain electrical, plumbing, 
sanitary, heating, ventilating & 
air conditioning systems in good 
working order. 

 

• Keep common areas clean & 
safe. 

 

• Provide at least 2 days’ written 
notice of intent to enter your 
place, except in an emergency. 

 

• Make repairs to keep the place 
safe & livable. (For problems    
affecting health and safety, 
make your request for repairs in 
writing. See  The Alabama    
Tenants’ Handbook for details.) 

 

• Let you have peaceful             
enjoyment of your place. 

 

 
• Raise the rent during the term of 

your lease. 
 

• Threaten to cut services, raise 
the rent, or evict you because 
you complain to him or to the 
government about a problem  
affecting health or safety. 

 

• Change the locks, shut off     
utilities, or put your things out to 
make you leave. She can send 
you an eviction notice if you 
break the lease, and the court 
can make you leave. 

 

 
• Ask you to relieve the landlord   

of his duty to provide a livable 
dwelling. 

 

• Ask you to give up your rights 
regarding the security deposit 
(see column 2, second bullet). 

 

• Ask you to limit the amount the 
landlord has to pay in case she  
violates the lease.  

 

• Ask you to pay the landlord’s    
attorney fees or the cost of      
collecting rent. 

What the landlord has to do: What the landlord can’t do: 

What the lease can’t do: 

What you have to do: 


