Contact Us

Burnestine P. Taylor, MD 
Assistant State Health Officer
Communicable Disease 
(334) 206-5325

Sherri Davidson, PhD, MPH
Interim State Epidemiologist 
(334) 206-5971

Dee W. Jones, DVM 
State Public Health Veterinarian
(334) 206-5969

John Guarisco, PhD
Environmental Toxicologist 
(334) 206-5973


Bureau of Communicable Diseases Administration

Harrison Wallace, MPH
Bureau of Communicable Disease Director 
Disease Control and Prevention 
(334) 206-5325

Kelly Stevens, MS
Infectious Diseases & Outbreaks Division Director
(334) 206-5971
After Hours (24/7): 1-800-338-8374

Cindy Lesinger
Immunization Division Director
(334) 206-5023
After Hours (24/7): 1-800-469-4599

Sharon Jordan, MPH
HIV/AIDS Division Director
(334) 206-5364
After Hours (24/7): 1-800-228-0469

Anthony Merriweather, MSPH
STD Division Director
(334) 206-5350

Claire Payne
Tuberculosis Division Director
(334) 206-5330

Bureau of Clinical Laboratories

Sharon Massingale, PhD HCLD
Laboratory Director
(334) 260-3400

Email Communicable Diseases

Thank you for your inquiry to the Alabama Department of Public Health (ADPH). For your security, please do not include personal identification and/or financial information (such as social security numbers, names and addresses of minors, bank account, and/or credit card numbers).

We make every effort to respond to all inquiries in a timely manner, however, if you need immediate assistance, please call 1-800-252-1818 during regular business hours (Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.), excluding state holidays. We look forward to assisting you.

Page last updated: November 18, 2019