Font Size:

Pyramid of Services

The conceptual framework for the services of the Title V Maternal and Child Health Block Grant is envisioned as a pyramid with three tiers of services and levels of funding that provide comprehensive services for mothers and children. The pyramid also displays the uniqueness of the MCH Block Grant, which is the only federal program that consistently provides services at all levels of the pyramid.

Vision of Title V

Title V envisions a nation where all mothers, children and youth, including CSHCN, and their families are healthy and thriving.

Mission of Title V

The Mission of Title V is to improve the health and well-being of the nation's mothers, infants, children and youth, including children and youth with special health care needs, and their families.

In considering potential strategies for implementing the new vision and mission statement, the 10 Essential Public Health Services were cross walked with the purpose of the MCH Block Grant to States Program, as defined in Section 501 (a)(1), Title V of the Social Security Act.

MCH Pyramid

Source: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal and Child Health Bureau's Title V Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant to States Program: Guidance and Forms for the Title V Application/Annual Report.

Page last updated: August 16, 2022