Font Size:

News and Events

Shade Structure Grant Program

The Alabama Department of Public Health Comprehensive Cancer Control Program accepts applications yearly for the Shade Structure Program. Depending on the availability of funding, each year up to four Title I public schools are selected to receive up to $15,000 to install shade structures over existing playgrounds to protect students from the harmful effects of ultraviolet (UV) radiation from the sun while outdoors. To be eligible for the grant, public schools must provide services for children ages 18 and younger; demonstrate an ongoing commitment to sun safety/skin cancer awareness by teaching sun safety in the classrooms, practicing healthy sun-safe behaviors while outside, and educating youth on the dangers of UV rays and prevention of skin cancer; receive a letter of recommendation from an active member of the Alabama Comprehensive Cancer Control Coalition; and have a documented need for a shade structure. Additionally, shade structures must meet the stringent shade requirements of the American Academy of Dermatology.

Shade Structure Request for Proposal 2024 Coming Soon

National News

Legislation signed raising the legal age to sell/buy tobacco in retail stores from 18 to 21

As of December 20, 2019, it is now illegal for retailers to sell any tobacco products - including cigarettes, cigars, and e-cigarettes to anyone under the age of 21. According to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, each day about 2,000 youth try their first cigarette and more than 400 become daily cigarette smokers. Early exposure to tobacco products drastically increases the risk of addiction and later development of tobacco-related diseases.

As a first line of defense, retailers play a very important role in protecting children and adolescents from the harms of tobacco. Under the Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act, the FDA educates retailers on the law and compliance through guidance and educational material. These laws are designed to decrease youth and adolescent interest and accessibility to tobacco products. Visit for a summary of federal rules and regulations for tobacco retailers.

State News

New Law Prohibits Smoking and Vaping in Vehicles with Children

Secondhand tobacco smoke leads to health problems, and there is no safe level of exposure for children or adults. A newly enacted Alabama law prohibits smoking or vaping in enclosed motor vehicles with children ages 14 and younger as passengers. Children’s smaller bodies take in a larger amount of air, so tobacco smoke is particularly hazardous to them.

Protecting children from secondhand smoke also means not using other types of commercial tobacco products. These include e-cigarettes. To protect children riding in your vehicle, do not let anyone smoke. Rolling down windows does not protect them. Smoking or vaping in an enclosed vehicle with children is a secondary violation. This means that if a driver is pulled over for another reason and a child is present, fines are up to $100.

The Alabama Department of Public Health urges you to make the decision to quit smoking. To get confidential information, referrals, and counseling:

  • Call this free quitline: 1-800-QUIT-NOW (1-800-784-8669)
  • Go to this website:
  • Text QUIT to (205) 900-2550

ACCCC Newsletters

Page last updated: April 11, 2024